Prizewinners at the 2019 SPA Annual Conference

Each year the Annual Conference provides not only an opportunity for scholarly discussions and networking among social policy researchers, teachers and practitioners, but also a chance to celebrate excellence within the social policy community. The judging panel for the SPA Awards 2019 consisted of Baroness Ruth Lister of Burtersett (as President of the SPA), Professor Alan Deacon, Professor Caroline Glendinning and Dr Margaret May (as judges appointed by the SPA), and Josephine Tucker from the Child Poverty Action Group (as judge from outside the academic community).

The following awards were presented and celebrated at the conference dinner on 8th July 2019:

Award for Excellence in Doctoral Research:

Jessica S.C. Ng – for her paper “Understanding the persistence of ‘short-term’ health crisis NGOs: The case of Toronto’s minority ethnospecific HIV/AIDS service organisations.”

The Richard Titmuss Book Award:

Daniel Edmiston – for his book “Welfare, Inequality and Social Citizenship”, published by Policy Press.

Policy Press Outstanding Teaching Award:

The Department of Social Policy, Sociology and Criminology at the University of Birmingham (collective award, received by Lee Gregory) – for innovative changes to curriculum and learning methods in social policy.

Cambridge University Press Awards for Excellence in Social Policy Scholarship – Journal of Social Policy:

Elena Bárcena-Martín, M. Carmen Blanco-Arana and Salvador Pérez-Moreno – for their article “Social Transfers and Child Poverty in European Countries: Pro-poor Targeting or Pro-child Targeting?”

Cambridge University Press Awards for Excellence in Social Policy Scholarship – Social Policy and Society:

Paul Hickman – for his article “A Flawed Construct? Understanding and Unpicking the Concept of Resilience in the Context of Economic Hardship”

International Recognition Award:

Nick Ellison – for the advancement of social policy scholarship, his sustained impact and long-standing esteem in the discipline.

Many congratulations to all our prizewinners for their tremendous achievements.