SPA Awards

SPA awards

The Social Policy Association is pleased to announce the call for nominations for this year’s awards. Winners will receive their awards at the Annual SPA Conference Dinner hosted in York 11-13 July 2018.

The SPA awards aim to:

1) Advance the interests of the Social Policy Association and its members through increased reach and status

2) Recognise and endorse the work of academics who are both researching and teaching social policy, and who as SPA members contribute to advancing the discipline

3) Recognise and endorse the work of individuals and organisations who as social policy practitioners and/or advocates, are using academic work produced by the Social Policy academic community and/or are working with academics to promote the public understanding of social policy

Process of awards

Where the awards are made on the decision of the SPA appointed judging panel, the panel will comprise 4 judges appointed by the executive to serve for 3 years and will normally include:

  • The SPA President
  • 1 judge drawn from outside the academic community
  • 2 judges appointed from SPA membership

Nomination Forms and supporting documentation, where applicable, must be received by the SPA Awards Officer ( by Monday 16 April 2018.

General rules of the Awards

Those making a nomination must do so with the full knowledge of the person being nominated. Please read the rules and criteria for each award carefully before submitting a nomination. Current members of the SPA appointed judging panel are not eligible to nominate.

Award categories:

  • International Recognition Award
  • Award for Excellence in Doctoral Research
  • The Richard Titmuss Book Award
  • Policy Press Outstanding Teaching Award
  • Public Understanding of Social Policy Award
  • Cambridge University Press Awards for Excellence in Social Policy Scholarship (JSP & SP&S)

For further information on the award categories, please see the Awards page on the SPA website