In Defence of Welfare 2

  • FEATURED: Introduction to In Defence of Welfare 2 - Nick Ellison, Chair of the SPA

In Defence of Welfare began in 2010 as a response to this government’s first Major Spending Review. Put together by the Social Policy Association, it was an attempt to anticipate the impact of such cuts to welfare on British society.

This second edition, In Defence of Welfare 2, brings together nearly fifty short pieces from a diverse range of academics, policy makers and journalists to explore the impact of those reforms at a time when a general election is looming.

Editors: Liam Foster, Anne Brunton, Chris Deeming, Tina Haux

Twitter: @SocialPolicyUK #IDOWII #defendwelfare

Download the full text here

Buy a full print copy from Policy Press

INTRODUCTION

Nick Ellison – Chair – Social Policy Association, University of York

*e: nick.ellison@york.ac.uk

 

WHAT’S THE POINT OF WELFARE?

 What is the state of economic inequality in the UK? And why does it matter? Danny Dorling, University of Oxford

*e: danny.dorling@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Welfare and well–being – inextricably linked Elke Heins, University of Edinburgh and Chris Deeming, University of Bristol

*e. elke.heins@ed.ac.uk     @socpolEdinburgh

Well-being and welfare under the U.K. Coalition: Happiness is not enough David Taylor, University of Brighton

*e: D.Taylor@brighton.ac.uk

‘Ways of extending the welfare state to the poor’ Steve Crossley*, Durham University

*e: s.j.crossley@durham.ac.uk     @akindoftrouble

Rhetoric and reality: Exploring lived experiences of welfare reform under the Coalition Ruth Patrick, University of Leeds

*e: R.Patrick@leeds.ac.uk     @ruthpatrick0

Turning lives around? The Troubled Families Programme Harriet Churchill, University of Sheffield

*e: h.churchill@sheffield.ac.uk     @HarrieChurchill

 

IMPACT OF WELFARE REFORMS

High–cost credit and welfare reform Jodi Gardner, University of Oxford and Karen Rowlingson, University of Birmingham

*e: jodi.gardner@law.ox.ac.uk

Financial inclusion Lindsey Appleyard, University of Birmingham, Karen Rowlingson, University of Birmingham and Stephen McKay, University of Lincoln

*e: K.Rowlingson@bham.ac.uk

The value of local government for welfare Annette Hastings, University of Glasgow Nick Bailey, University of Glasgow, Glen Bramley Heriot Watt University and Maria Gannon University of Glasgow

*e: Annette.Hastings@glasgow.ac.uk

Ian Cole and Ryan Powell, Sheffield Hallam University – Housing and welfare reform

*e: R.S.Powell@shu.ac.uk

‘I’m thinking god what am I going to do, I’ve got no money, I need to pay this and I need to pay that, and then I’m going back to the tools that I’m getting from stress management…’ Victoria Armstrong, Durham University

*e: v.e.potts@durham.ac.uk     @stigmaresearch

‘Getting tough’ on the family–migration route: A blurring of the ‘them’ and ‘us’ in anti–immigration rhetoric Majella Kilkey, University of Sheffield

*e: m.kilkey@sheffield.ac.uk    @mkilkey

The coming of age of progressive neo–liberal conservative `welfarism’ under the Coalition Government of 2010–15 Robert M Page, University of Birmingham

*e: r.m.page@bham.ac.uk

Austerity measures across Europe Ludvig Norman, Uppsala Universitet, Katrin Uba, Uppsala Universitet and Luke Temple, University of Sheffield

*e: l.temple@sheffield.ac.uk     @livewhatproject

The impact of austerity on women Fran Bennett, University of Oxford and member of Women’s Budget Group

*e: fran.bennett@spi.ox.ac.uk

Child poverty and child well–being Jonathan Bradshaw, Social Policy Research Unit, University of York

*e: jonathan.bradshaw@york.ac.uk

Idle paupers, scroungers and shirkers: Past and new social stereotypes of the undeserving welfare claimant in the UK Serena Romano, University of London

*e: serena.romano@unina.it     @SerenaRomanoSoc

Legal exclusion in a post ‘LASPO’ era Lisa Wintersteiger, Law for Life, Foundation for Public legal Education

*e: lisa.wintersteiger@lawforlife.org.uk

 

WELFARE PROVISION – CORE SERVICES

Pensions and the Coalition: A new way forward? Liam Foster, University of Sheffield and Jay Ginn, King’s College, London

*e: l.foster@sheffield.ac.uk

A childcare system fit for the future? Jana Javornik and Jo Ingold, University of Leeds

*e: j.javornik@leeds.ac.uk     @JanaSvenska

 ‘Universal childcare’ and maternal employment: the British and the Swedish story Ingela K. Naumann, Edinburgh University

*e: ingela.naumann@ed.ac.uk

Education: Who runs our schools? Stephen J Ball, University College London

*e: S.Ball@ioe.ac.uk

The impact of the coalition austerity drive on English statutory homeless service delivery Sarah Alden, University of Sheffield

*e: sop11sla@sheffield.ac.uk

Combating modern slavery Gary Craig, Durham University

*e: gary.craig@durham.ac.uk

Adult social care Jon Glasby, Robin Miller and Catherine Needham, University of Birmingham

*e: C.Needham.1@bham.ac.uk     @DrCNeedham

Independent living and disabled people Jenny Morris, Executive Director of the last government’s Independent Living Strategy 2006-8

*e: jenny@jennymorris.net

How not to do big reorganisations in social policy: The NHS Ian Greener, Durham University

*e: ian.greener@durham.ac.uk     @ijgreener

Domestic violence Rachel Robbins, Manchester Metropolitan University

*e: R.Robbins@mmu.ac.uk     @DorisDayRobbins

The Environment Tony Fitzpatrick, University of Nottingham

*e: tony.fitzpatrick@nottingham.ac.uk

 

WELFARE BEYOND THE STATE

Big Society or welfare failure: How does food insecurity reflect future welfare trends? Lee Gregory and Ricky Joseph, University of Birmingham

*e: l.j.gregory@bham.ac.uk     @AcademicLee

The voluntary and faith sector: ‘Stepping up’ or ‘waving but drowning’ in the era of Austerity? James Rees, Rob Macmillan and Heather Buckingham, University of Birmingham

*e: J.E.Rees@bham.ac.uk     @3rdsectorRC

Food poverty, welfare reform and health inequalities Kayleigh Garthwaite and Clare Bambra, Durham University

*e: k.a.garthwaite@durham.ac.uk      @KA_Garthwaite

The Big Society and the third sector Pete Alcock, University of Birmingham

*e: p.c.alcock@bham.ac.uk

Food banks: The best kept secret of British social policy? Rana Jawad, University of Bath

*R.Jawad@bath.ac.uk

 

CHALLENGES TO WELFARE

Immigration, social class and politics Anne Brunton, Royal Holloway University of London

*anne.brunton@gmail.com     @CriminologyUK

Funerals and the state: An uneasy relationship Kate Woodthorpe, University of Bath and Liam Foster, University of Sheffield

*e:  l.foster@sheffield.ac.uk

Devolving social policy: Is Scotland a beacon for fairness? Kirstein Rummery, University of Stirling

*e: kirstein.rummery@stir.ac.uk

Young people and the predictability of precarious transitions Hannah King, Durham University

*e: hannah.king@durham.ac.uk

The labour market before and after the recession Stephen McKay and Rose Smith, University of Lincoln

*e: smckay@lincoln.ac.uk      @socialpolicy

Activating the (un)employed: Embedded trajectories, embedded problems? Eleanor Carter and Adam Whitworth, University of Sheffield

*e: adam.whitworth@sheffield.ac.uk

Towards a rights–based framework in UK welfare–to–work services Dan Heap, University of Edinburgh

*e: Dan.Heap@ed.ac.uk 

‘Digital–by–default’: Reinforcing exclusion through technology Simeon J. Yates, University of Liverpool, John Kirby, Sheffield Hallam University and Eleanor Lockley, Sheffield Hallam University

*e: simeon.yates@liverpool.ac.uk     @iccliverpool

 

LOOKING AHEAD

Why nationalisation or privatisation of public services might not be the only options Zoe Williams, the Guardian

*zoe@zoe-williams.com     @zoesqwilliams

The Big Society five years on Steve Corbett, University of Sheffield

*e: s.corbett@sheffield.ac.uk     @StevenCorbett

In defence of social security Liam Crosby and Luke Price, Community Links, London

*luke.price@community-links.org     @Luke__Price

Defending welfare and the Scottish independence debate Gerry Mooney, the Open University in Scotland

*e:  Gerry.Mooney@open.ac.uk     @gerrymooney60

No going back? Can the austerity politics of the coalition be reversed? Peter Taylor–Gooby, University of Kent

*e: P.F.Taylor-Gooby@kent.ac.uk